Almost time .... nervous

Discussion and posts relating to the 2014 Knightmare Convention in Norwich
Alex_Smith
Dungeoneer
Dungeoneer

Almost time .... nervous

Post by Alex_Smith »

So, that's it then. My train travel is booked both ways, and my hotel is sorted. I'm arriving in Norwich at half 11 on Saturday morning, checking into the hotel at 12ish and will be at the convention shortly after that. Planning to stay all day, although I just know I wouldn't be able to cope with the midnight hunt so am having to give that a miss.

I'm going to admit right here that I'm nervous. Very nervous. Don't get me wrong, I'm excited too, it's just that I've never done anything like this before, not on my own anyway. I've been around on the forum, on and off, since 1999 but never met anyone, though I have spoken to a few of you on the phone in the distant past. My anxiety is through the roof, and in the past that is what's prevented me from getting more involved than I could have been over the years, but I'm not going to miss this for the world. My question is, is anyone else travelling on their own, feeling the same way? How are you coping?

My brain has been coping with the anxiety by giving me numerous vivid dreams. One involved the play-a-room event, where the room turned out to my parent's old garden shed. Another one saw the streets of Norwich packed with tens of thousands of people, all screaming and cheering, hoping to catch a glimpse of the stars of Knightmare as they pulled up to the studio in abnormally long limos.

I'll post about the most vivid one I've had later, as it's rather in depth and this post is long enough already!
wombstar
Level 3 Dungeoneer
Level 3 Dungeoneer

Re: Almost time .... nervous

Post by wombstar »

Yet after it's all finished not only would have had a great time but you'll wonder why you were worried about it in the first place.